1. SafetyPlusWeb Support
  2. SPW: Audit Checklists & Inspection Items

Risk Assessment Codes (RAC)

Establishing a Risk Assessment Code for an Inspection Item

Risk Assessment Codes or simply, RAC, are levels used to rate the severity of an issue found during an inspection or audit using a scale from 1 to 3. In this scale, RAC-3 is the most critical requiring immediate response and RAC-1 is the least critical. We recommend fixing all RAC-3s first, followed by RAC-2, and finally addressing RAC-1 last.


Examples of RAC levels:


Note that the context, quantity, or degree of an issue can affect the RAC assigned.